By

Nevada Rules of Civil Procedure

RULE 6.  TIME

      (a) Computation.  In computing any period of time prescribed or allowed by these rules, by the local rules of any district court, by order of court, or by any applicable statute, the day of the act, event, or default from which the designated period of time begins to run shall not be included. The last day of the period so computed shall be included, unless it is a Saturday, a Sunday, or a nonjudicial day, in which event the period runs until the end of the next day which is not a Saturday, a Sunday, or a nonjudicial day, or, when the act to be done is the filing of a paper in court, a day on which weather or other conditions have made the office of the clerk of the district court inaccessible, in which event the period runs until the end of the next day which is not one of the aforementioned days. When the period of time prescribed or allowed is less than 11 days, intermediate Saturdays, Sundays, and nonjudicial days shall be excluded in the computation except for those proceedings filed under Titles 12 or 13 of the Nevada Revised Statutes.

      [As amended; effective January 1, 2005.]

       (b) Enlargement.  When by these rules or by a notice given thereunder or by order of court an act is required or allowed to be done at or within a specified time, the parties, by written stipulation of counsel filed in the action, may enlarge the period, or the court for cause shown may at any time in its discretion (1) with or without motion or notice order the period enlarged if request therefor is made before the expiration of the period originally prescribed or as extended by a previous order, or (2) upon motion made after the expiration of the specified period permit the act to be done where the failure to act was the result of excusable neglect; but it may not extend the time for taking any action under Rules 50(b), 50(c)(2), 52(b), 59(b), (d) and (e) and 60(b), except to the extent and under the conditions stated in them.

      [As amended; effective January 1, 2005.]

       (c) Reserved.

       (d) For Motions—Affidavits.  A written motion, other than one which may be heard ex parte, and notice of the hearing thereof shall be served not later than 5 days before the time specified for the hearing, unless a different period is fixed by these rules or by rule or order of the court. Such an order may, for cause shown, be made on ex parte application. When a motion or opposition is supported by affidavit, the affidavit shall be served with the motion or opposition.

      [As amended; effective January 1, 2005.]

       (e) Additional Time After Service by Mail or Electronic Means.  Whenever a party has the right or is required to do some act or take some proceedings within a prescribed period after the service of a notice or other paper, other than process, upon the party and the notice or paper is served upon the party by mail or by electronic means, 3 days shall be added to the prescribed period.

      [As amended; effective January 1, 2005.]

About the Author

Jay Young is a Las Vegas, Nevada attorney. His practice focuses on acting as an Arbitrator and Mediator.

Mr. Young can be reached at 702.667.4868 or at jay@h2law.com.

 

Leave a Reply