By

Nevada Arbitration Rules

      Rule 24.  Fees for arbitrators.

      (A)  Arbitrators appointed to hear cases pursuant to these rules are entitled to be compensated at the rate of $100 per hour to a maximum of $1,000 per case unless otherwise authorized by the commissioner for good cause shown. If required by the arbitrator, each party to the arbitration shall submit, within 30 days of request by the arbitrator, a sum of up to $250 as an advance toward the arbitrator’s fees and costs. If a party fails to pay the required advance, the party may be subject to sanctions, including an award dismissing the complaint or entry of the non-complying party’s default.

      (B)  To recover any fee, the arbitrator must submit to the parties an itemized bill reflecting the time spent on a case within 15 days of the date that the arbitrator serves an award in an action; within 15 days of notice of removal of the case from the program by resolution or exemption; or within 15 days of notice of change of arbitrator, whichever date is earliest. If the parties have paid an advance toward the arbitrator’s fees and costs, the arbitrator shall indicate this advance on the itemized bill and shall return to the parties any portion of the advance that is over the amount on the itemized bill.

      (C)  The fee of the arbitrator must be paid equally by the parties to the arbitration, and must be paid to the arbitrator within 10 days of the date that the arbitrator serves the bill reflecting the fee. If any party fails to pay that party’s portion of the arbitrator’s fee within the time prescribed in this subdivision, the district court shall, after giving appropriate notice and opportunity to be heard, enter a judgment and a writ of execution against the delinquent party for the amount owed by that party to the arbitrator, plus any costs and attorney’s fees incurred by the arbitrator in the collection of the fee. If one of the parties to the arbitration is an indigent person who was exempted pursuant to NRS 12.015 from paying a filing fee, the arbitrator may not collect a fee from any party to the arbitration.

      (D)  All disputes regarding the fee of the arbitrator must be filed with the commissioner within 5 days of the date that the arbitrator serves the bill reflecting the arbitrator’s fee, and resolved by the commissioner.

      (E)  For purposes of this rule, if several parties are represented by one attorney, they shall be considered one party.

      [Added; effective July 1, 1992; amended effective January 1, 2005.]

About the Author

Jay Young is a Las Vegas, Nevada attorney. His practice focuses on business law, business litigation, and acting as an Arbitrator and Mediator.

Mr. Young can be reached at 702.667.4868 or at jay@h2law.com.